This page was last updated on August 10, 2023

About the Board

Yukon Water Board objective:

'...provide for the conservation, development, and utilization of waters in a manner that will provide the optimum benefit from them for all Canadians and for the residents of the Yukon in particular.'    ~Waters Act

About the Yukon Water Board

The Board issues water use licences for the use of water and/or the deposit of waste to water. The Board is an independent body established under the Waters Act and the Water Board Secretariat provides administrative support and works on the Board’s behalf.

The Board operates similarly to a court of law in that it is evidence-based. Licence decisions are made objectively on the facts presented either on a register and/or at a public hearing.

The Board meets on a monthly basis and is made up of a maximum of nine members. These members are appointed by the Minister of the Executive Council Office; each of the following organizations nominate three members:


Name Nomination Expiry
McDonald, Piers:
Government of Yukon December 10, 2024
Smoler, Russel
Government of Yukon February 26, 2025
Barrett, Wesley Council of Yukon First Nations April 20, 2026
Leckie, Anne Federal (Indigenous and
Northern Affairs)
May 5, 2026
McIntyre, Robert Federal (Health) September 30, 2025
Sidney, Carl Council of Yukon First Nations April 20, 2026
Wallingham, Sam Government of Yukon January 31, 2026
Warnsby, Bruce Council of Yukon First Nations November 10, 2025
Vacant Federal (Environment and
Climate Change)